Uttar Pradesh State Board of High School and Intermediate Education

Uttar Pradesh State Board of High School and Intermediate Education_Study Material

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”
Mahatma Gandhi

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”
Nelson Mandela

The Uttar Pradesh State Board of High School and Intermediate Education is the Uttar Pradesh state government administered independent examining authority for the Standard 10 examination (or secondary school level examination) and Standard 12 examination (or inter college level examination) of Uttar Pradesh, headquartered in Prayagraj, India. Presently this board enjoys the tag of Asia’s largest board in terms of numbers of students. The examination for the 10th Standard is called High school examination and the examination of 12th standard is called Intermediate examination.

Uttar Pradesh State Board of High School and Intermediate Education was founded in the year 1921 at Allahabad by an act of United Provinces Legislative Council. The Board conducted its first examination in the year 1923. Since its inception, the Board had accepted 10+2 structure of examination. Before 1923, University of Allahabad was the examining body of these two examinations.

Objectives & Vision:

  • To provide qualitative and subjective education to students
  • To fucus on academic research and training support
  • To grant recognition to aspiring school.
  • To prescribe courses and text books for High school and Intermediate level.
  • To provide compatibility and equivalence to the examinations conducted by other Boards.
  • To manage High school and Intermediate Examinations.
  • To deliver academic guidance, leadership and suggestions to schools and institutions.
  • To maintain accuracy and reliability of evaluation.
  • To organize various innovative and creative programmes.
  • To conduct research in evaluation and curriculum framing.

Exam Pattern:

  • Every year the Board conducts three examinations: 1. The Middle School Exam for Class VII 2. The High School Exam for Class X 3. Intermediate Exam for Class XII, which is a school-leaving examination.
  • The prescribed medium for all examinations is either English or Hindi.
  • There are 6 compulsory subjects: Hindi, one other language, Social Science, Science, Mathematics and one subject of Moral, Physical, Socially Useful Productive and Social Work education.
  • There is no external public examination, but continuous internal evaluation is done. There is only one optional subject.
  • There is only internal assessment and evaluation up to class IXth.
  • At Intermediate level, Hindi is compulsory and students have to choose four other subjects from various groups of subjects.

Our Categories:




Leave a reply